PC News: Maryhill Festival Day 4

 In Community, Event Coverage

“Goldendale, WA, USA- The second and final round of qualifying for the Abec 11 Maryhill Festival of Speed took place today under warm and sunny skies. Fridays qualifying leader Ramon Konigshausen held on to the number one starting position when no other skater was able to eclipse his time of 3:08.983 on Saturday. Even Konigshausen himself was only able to muster a 3:14.196 on his second run.

James Kelly was also unable to improve his time by remained in second place based on his Friday time. Zen Shikaze ran a 3:09.473 setting the quickest time of the second round and moving into the number three qualifying position. Joshua Torres will line up fourth based on his Friday time. Martin Siegrist who had been left sitting in the number twelve spot on Friday improved his time by more than three seconds to qualify fifth.

Calafato Wins the Repacharge

With 186 downhill skateboarders vying for the top 92 spots that would automatically place them in Sundays main event, qualifying was very important. The remaining four positions of the 96 man bracket were to be determined by a “Repacharge” or last chance qualifying race. The Repacharge used a six-man bracket for 48 riders. Those who qualified in positions 93-140 earned a spot in the race. After a long, tough battle Nicholas Calafato, Casey Morrow, Daniel Luna and Callum Mathieson finished first through fourth respectively and earned a spot in the main event.

Kelly Wins King of the Hill

Following the Repacharge, a king of the hill race was held. The top six qualifers were all placed in a one-run shoot out. James Kelly was the winner with Zen Shikaze finishing second. Martin Siegrist was third, Max Wippermann fourth, Joshua Torres fifth and number one qualifier Ramon Konigshausen in sixth.” – IGSA World Cup

Recommended Posts

Start typing and press Enter to search